top of page

South Street St Andrews

South Street is where you will find St Mary's Quad

and the Gregory meridian. The oldest part of the University

and the town gate (west port). Madras College Blackfriars Chapel ruins, the Town Hall and many other historic sites.

El puerto del oeste

Calle Sur  San Andrés  Escocia

El West Port fue construido alrededor de 1580 y es la única puerta en su posición original que queda en Escocia. No parece ser parte de una muralla de la ciudad que se habría cerrado en caso de invasión de los ingleses.La puerta fue renovada ampliamente en 1843.  Sobre el centro del arco está el escudo de armas de St Andrews 

St Andrews West Port Looking into the Old Town
St Andrews West Port Looking out of the Old Town

Gavin Douglas 1474-1522

Gavin Douglas nació en Tantallon Castle East Lothian.

Era el tercer hijo de Archibald "Bell the Cat" Douglas, quinto conde de Angus. y tenía una casa cerca de este lugar. Un estudiante de la Universidad de St Andrews, fue un poeta conocido por su "Palice of Honor"  y para sus "Eneados" una traducción de la "Eneida" de Virgilio al escocés. Fue decano de St Giles Edimburgo en 1501 y obispo de Dunkeld en 1515. Murió en 1522 Londres de la peste. Su escudo de armas una vez estuvo encima de la placa, vea debajo cómo se veía.

Gavin Douglas Plaque St Andrews, Famous People

Madras College 

South Street St Andrews

Madras College first opened in 1833 and takes its name from founder the Rev. Dr Andrew Bell and the educational system he devised. 

see his plaque beside Blackfriars Chapel.

Madras College St Andrews

Capilla de Blackfriars

Blackfriars Chapel Front

La Capilla de Blackfriars fue construida en 1525 y dañada por un incendio en 1547 y destruida en 1559 por un protestante durante la reforma. La estructura de South Street es todo lo que queda.

Robert Burns Club Plaque

South Street St Andrews

St Andrews Burns Club Plaque

Can be found on what was the Royal Hotel where the club was founded

on 25th January 1869.

13 in the Robert Burns World Federation

Robert Burns Club
Robert Burns Club Plaque
Blackfriars Chapel Royal Hotel Madras College.JPG

Estatua de Hamish McHamish

Carril de Logies

San Andrés

KY16 9NL

Escocia

Hamish the Cat St Andrews

Hamish McHamish era un gato pelirrojo (de 15 años) que vivía en St Andrews, Escocia.

Se convirtió en una estrella internacional cuando se publicó un libro titulado Hamish McHamish of St Andrews: Cool Cat About Town. Hamish una estrella de las redes sociales con su propia página de Facebook https://www.facebook.com/HamishMcHamishOfStAndrews y cuenta de Twitter @Hamish_McHamish. Un gato nómada que fue cuidado por muchos de los residentes de St Andrews. Una vez propiedad de Marianne Baird.

Bailie Bell's House and Foundry

South Street St Andrews

In 1620 Edward Raban came to

St Andrews and set up a printing press in a building on the corner of North Street and Church Street.

This was later demolished by Bailie Bell in 1740 so he could build his house. This house is where his son was born in 1753 (Andrew).  Andrew was to found Madras College and the "monitorial system" of education.

Royal Coat of Arms Tablet

South Street St Andrews

Dr Andrew Bell Plaque

South Street St Andrews

Dr Bell was born in South Street St Andrews in 1753 he died in 1832. Son of Bailie Bell, Andrew was Founder of the Madras College in 1833 pioneered the Madras System of Education. 

Teaching system which went worldwide, where older children taught younger children.

Plaque reads:

The Reverend Dr Andrew Bell 1753 – 1832

An educational reformer and philanthropist. He was born in St Andrews. It was while serving in Madras in India that he developed a form of schooling where the older pupils taught the younger. When he returned he introduced his “Madras” or monitorial system as an economical form of mass education. The idea spread, Madras Schools appearing in Canada and Australia. Among the other local benefactions was the Bell fund for the benefit of St Andrews. He ended his career as Prebendary of Westminster Abbey. Where he is buried.

Casa del Dr. John Adamson

Dr John Adamson's House St Andrews
Dr Adamson's Birthplace St Andrews

El Dr. John Adamson 1809-1870 vivió aquí 1845-1865

Fue médico y fotógrafo pionero.

En 1841 realizó también el primer retrato calotipo.

También enseñó a su hermano Robert y Thomas Rodger la técnica y el arte de la fotografía. 

Holy Trinity Church

South Street St Andrews

The Holy Trinity Church originally stood close to St Andrews Cathedral

and was built in 1144.

It has been in its present position in South Street since 1412. 

Originally served by Roman Catholic priests

it changed with the Reformation in 1559

to Protestant and Episcopalian priests.

Since 1689 the ministers have been Presbyterian.

The Tower and two interior arches are the only original parts of the church from 1412 that remain.

1907 the church was demolished and rebuilt to the previous medieval church’s footprint and rededicated on St Andrews Day in 1909.

The Sharp Aisle

The Sharp Aisle, contains the tomb and monument to Archbishop Sharp (1618-1697),

Sharpe was murdered by Covenanters at Magus Muir 1697.

 

The Great East Window

Dated from 1910

 

The Good Physician

Dated from 1890 is the only surviving window prior to the reconstruction of the church in 1909.

 

John Knox Porch

In 1547 Holy Trinity was the scene of the first public sermon

of the famous reformer, John Knox.

 He also preached in Holy Trinity in 1559, instructing residents of St Andrews to purge the city of "monuments of idolatry". Inspired by Knox's the local population rejected Catholicism, tore down statues and altars, and sacked St Andrews Cathedral.

Holy Trinity Church Archbishop Sharp Monument St Andrews
St Andrews Town Hall Plaque

Ayuntamiento de St Andrews

Jardines de Queens

San Andrés

KY16 9TA

Escocia 

St Andrews Town Hall St Andrews Scotland
St Andrews Town Hall Polish Mosaic Memorial

Ayuntamiento de St Andrews erigido en 1858 con fines municipales y públicos

Sir Hugh Playfair Provost.

Monumento al Soldado Polaco St Andrews

Charles Lapworth Plaque

South Street St Andrews

Charles Lapworth was a teacher at Madras College 1875 – 1881.

A self-taught Geologist was the founder of a new geological time (The Ordovician Period)

He became a Professor of Geology in 1881 at Birmingham University.

Plaque Reads:

CHARLES LAPWORTH, LLD, FRS, 1842-1920

Between 1875 and 1881 Lapworth was a teacher of English at Madras College. In his spare time he studied the Rocks of extinct creatures called Graptolites to help unravel the complexities of these ancient rocks. As a result of his careful studies, he proposed anew division of geological time, The Ordovician Period that is now recognised and used internationally. He also correctly interpreted the Moine Thrust Fault Zone in the North West Highlands of Scotland as amass of older rocks pushed over younger ones, an idea which at the time conflicted with orthodoxy. He left St Andrews in 1881 to become Professor of Geology at the University of Birmingham.

George Martine de Claremont

George Martine de Claremont 1635-1712

Vivió en South Street Fue abogado, comisario de St Andrews y autor de la Primera historia del Arzobispado: - "Reliquiae Divi Andreae"

George Martine of Claremont St Andrews

George Martine FRS 1700-1741

George era médico, cirujano y geólogo, que más tarde vivió en 56 South Street. Fue el primero en hacer un estudio cuidadoso del calor y las escalas de temperatura, e hizo la Primera estimación -400F, de la temperatura del cero absoluto,  Hizo el primer termómetro clínico útil de mercurio en vidrio. Aquí fue en 1730 donde realizó la primera traqueotomía en Gran Bretaña.

James David Forbes House 

South Street St Andrews

James David Forbes was born in Edinburgh 20 April 1809

at 86 George Street.

He was educated at Edinburgh University in 1825.  At 19, became a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and in 1832

he was elected to the

Royal Society of London.

In 1859 he was appointed successor to David Brewster as principal of the United College of St Andrews, which he held until his death in 1868. It could be said he was first to study the heating of the earth.  

James David Forbes Plaque St Andrews

James Boswell y Samuel Johnson

Este es el sitio del Glass Inn 29 South Street donde Boswell y el Dr. Johnson cenaron el 18 de agosto de 1773.

Tuvimos un viaje lúgubre en una noche oscura a St Andrews, donde llegamos tarde. Encontramos una buena cena en Glass's Inn.

The Glass Inn sobrevivió alrededor de 1830

Glass's Inn Boswell and Samuels Visit

San Andrés

Atracciones

 

Catedral de St Andrews

Los pendientes

San Andrés

KY16 9QL

Escocia

 

Castillo de St Andrews

Las puntuaciones

San Andrés

KY16 9AR

Escocia

 

Iglesia de la Santísima Trinidad

Lugares de Santa María

San Andrés

KY16 9UY

Escocia

 

El puerto del oeste

Calle Sur

San Andrés

KY16 9EG

Escocia

 

Estatua de Hamish McHamish

Carril de Logies

San Andrés

KY16 9NL

Escocia

 

 

Capilla de Blackfriars

Casa Madras

Calle Sur

San Andrés

KY16 9EH

Escocia

 

Estatua del obispo Wardlaw

Cuadrilátero de Santa María

San Andrés

Escocia

 

Iglesia parroquial de Kingsbarns

Calle principal

Kingsbarns

San Andrés

KY16 8SS

Escocia

 

Ayuntamiento de St Andrews

Jardines de Queens

San Andrés

KY16 9TA

Escocia  

Tumba de Tom Morris

Los pendientes

San Andrés

KY16 9RG

 

Torre de las reglas de San

San Andrés

KY16 9QZ

 

Museo Bell Pettigrew

Edificios médicos de Bute

Escuela de biologia

Terraza de la Reina

San Andrés

KY16 9TS

John Gillespie Sundial St Andrews

De James Gregory

Línea meridiana

Calle Sur  San Andrés  Escocia James Gregory fue el primer profesor regio de Matemáticas.

Puso un meridiano en 1748. Él y otros dos fueron los fundadores del cálculo.

Inventó el telescopio gregoriano. Para una mirada más profunda al trabajo de Gregory, vaya a

https://mathshistory.st-andrews.ac.uk/

Gregory's Meridian Line Plaque St Andrews
Meridian Line St Andrews
bottom of page