top of page

St Mary's College
St Mary's Quad St Andrews

Robert of Montrose, the Prior of St Andrews donated land to build a college which was dedicated to St John in 1419 

 where St Mary’s College now stands.
The first steps in the foundation of the St Mary’s College were taken in St Andrews Castle on

7 February 1539, and in the chapel of St John the Evangelist in South Street, on the 10th of February the same year.

St Andrews over the centuries has been centre of the church in Scotland. St Andrews origins as the centre of Christianity are recorded in the 8th century AD, when the Pictish kings ruled eastern Scotland.

The ruins of St Andrews Cathedral and St Andrews Castle which is on the shore of the Scores still remain today.  Following the Reformation, St Mary’s College was made the home of St Andrews University’s Faculty of Divinity in 1579 as it is today.

St Marys College Story St Andrews

Colegio de Santa María

St Mary's Quadrangle St Andrews Escocia La Universidad de St Andrews, fundada en 1413, es la universidad más antigua de Escocia. 

Founders Tower and Oak Tree planted by Mary Queen of Scots circa 1560 St Andrews.JPG

St Mary's Quad Archway

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

"In principio erat verbum"

Latin phrase that means

"In the beginning was the Word"

The quote above the main entrance on South Street to

St Mary's Quad St Andrews

Archbishop James Beaton's House

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

Archbishop James Beaton the founder of St Mary's College in 1538.

Previous to that he also became Chancellor of Scotland (1515) a very powerful man of the time.

Born in Raith, Fife, Scotland in 1477 and died in St Andrews Castle 1539.

Cardinal Beaton's House St Mary's Quad St Andrews

Principals House

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

Part of the oldest remaining buildings of St Mary’s college.

Principals House St Mary's Quad St Andrews

Archbishop John Hamilton

Founders House and Tower

John Hamilton Built the Founders house and tower circa 1550

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

Hamilton Building and Tower St Mary's Quad St Andrews

Hamilton Tower Coat of Arms

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

The coat of arms above the tower door, now weathered is of Archbishop John Hamilton

Hamilton Coat of Arms Hamilton Tower St Mary's Quad St Andrews

King James Library

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

King James Library History

St Mary’s College Library, and Parliament Hall, where the Scottish parliament was held in 1645-46.

The common library in St Andrews was founded by

King James VI & I in 1612. With gifts from The Royal family, Archbishop of Canterbury and royal librarian. It was not until 1642 that the building on South Street which now houses the King James Library,

opened as a library. The Upper Hall was allocated to Regius Professor James Gregory as his workplace from 1668-1674. In 1773 the library was extended and re-modelled to what King James Library is today.

Queen Mary's Hazel Tree

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

The Hazel thorn tree said to have been planted by Mary, Queen of Scots, during her many visits to

St. Andrews circa 1560.

St Mary's College Queen Mary's Thorn Tree St Mary's Quad St Andrews

Mary's Sundial

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

The large stone pillar sundial outside the Hamilton Building.

Gran encina

Este árbol en el centro del cuadrilátero

fue plantado alrededor de 1750. 

Great Holm Oak Tree in Quadrant College.JPG

Bird Bath

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

Muriel Duncan (Bird Bath)

Close to the Sundial a stone bird bath was placed by Muriel Duncan, the first woman lecturer at

 St Andrews circa 1916.

Estatua del obispo Wardlaw

Henry Wardlaw fue uno de los fundadores de la universidad.

El arco en ruinas es el muro límite original de alrededor de 1420.  

Bishop Henry Wardlaw Statue St Andrews Scotland

Bishop Wardlaw Statue 

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

Henry Wardlaw was a founder of the university. The Statue was unveiled on the 29 June 2013

The statue depicts Bishop Henry Wardlaw in full Episcopal vestments displaying the Papal Bull on the day that it arrived in St Andrews in his raised right hand. He is carrying his crozier in his left hand.

St Mary's Do'cot

St Mary's Quad

South Street St Andrews

A Do'cot was a source of fresh meat 

Bell Pettigrew Museum

St Mary's Quad 

South Street St Andrews

Access through Gardens in St Mary’s Quad South Street

The Pettigrew Museum opened in 1838 by the Literary and Philosophical Society. A partnership between the University and town. In 1912 the museum had to be moved from Upper College Hall to the new Bell Pettigrew Museum. The Bell Pettigrew Museum of Natural History is open to everyone during

term breaks. Entry is free.

Pettigrew Museum Main Entrance
bottom of page